Irfananta: In-possible

It’s a new month; half the year is over; it’s Doctor’s Day; and starting today, helmets are compulsory for all two-wheeler riders in Chennai, pillions included. Good enough reasons (or excuses) to start off a new series.

I give you, as the featured pic says, Irfananta. Like my blog name (Irfinity) and the other series in my blog (Irfictionary), it too is a coming together of my name and the essence of the blog/series. In fact, the name is, aptly enough, the Hindi translation of my blog name: ‘ananta’ means ‘unending’, or ‘infinite’.

And what’s it about? A couple of new practices that I have gotten drawn toward this year (and hopefully will continue in the future too): yoga and Buddhism. Things of the spiritual sphere. Yoga is widely believed to offer you unending physical health (through the asanas and pranayama) as well as spiritual well-being (through meditation). Buddhism too is held to help you quieten and strengthen your mind and thus unlock your infinite potential.

Then, shall we start on this Irfananta journey? With, interestingly enough, a slightly tongue-in-cheek piece (tongue yoga?) – hopefully showing that the spiritual doesn’t have to mean the solemn.

 ∞

As I just wrote, yoga helps make your body as pliant as a serpent’s (there’s a cobra pose in yoga – bhujangasana – and many asanas have animal names as they are inspired by the design and/or motor capability of that animal) and helps make your mind and being as calm as Kung Fu Panda’s teacher, Shifu.

However, the manufacturers of yoga mats (the place on which you’re supposed to work on this pliancy and peace) and yoga mat bags don’t seem to be similarly aligned. How else would you explain that the yoga mat, after you’re done with your practice, is never malleable enough to go back into that bag – no matter how tightly you roll it or how small you make the front portion? Or by correlation, why that bag isn’t flexi enough to take back the desirous mat without a struggle, and in most cases, not at all?

I’ve tried, tried, and then some, and have managed to put the mat back in all of once, that too after ananta sweat-drops of struggle. Beginner’s luck. All other times, I have managed na-da; in the process, feeling first annoyed, then irritated, then frustrated, and finally angry. Seriously, where is that peace of mind yoga promised me?

Animal Yoga

I am reasonably confident that, after months of huffing and puffing, I will be able to execute the halasana (plow/plough pose) and get my legs behind my head on the ground. But getting the yoga mat back into its bag after I’ve done the halasana? Don’t see that happening for, well, forever. Seriously, there should be an asana just for this. Kasht (difficult) asana? Dhairya (patience) asana? Gussa (anger) asana?

So, I’ve decided to do the next best thing. I’m getting the bag custom-made. Appropriately enough, at a nearby organic store named Moksha (salvation).

Leave a Reply

